How to Become an Electrician in California
California is stricter than most states and unusually clear about it. If you work for a C-10 electrical contractor making connections over 100 volt amps, you must be certified by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement. Until you qualify, you register as an electrician trainee for $25 while enrolled in a state-approved school. General electrician certification takes 8,000 hours of qualifying work, and the exam application is $175.
Every figure below is sourced to the agency that issues it.Updated October 9, 2026
The short version
- Who certifies you
- California DIR, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement
- Who must be certified
- Electricians making connections over 100 volt amps for C-10 contractors
- Trainee registration
- $25 (Renewal is free, but requires current proof of enrollment)
- Hours for general electrician
- 8,000
- Exam application fee
- $175 ($100 exam plus $75 administration, non-refundable)
- Passing score
- 70% (General exam is 100 questions in 4 hours)
- Certification term
- 3 years (Renewal needs 2,000 hours of work and 32 hours of CE)
The steps, in order
Check whether you actually need certification
Certification is required for all electricians who make connections of greater than 100 volt amps and who work for C-10 contractors. That is the rule that catches most people.
DIR lists exemptions, including licensed C-10 sole proprietors working under their own license, C-7 (low voltage) and C-45 (electric sign) contractors, school district and plant electricians, and theatrical and motion picture industry technicians.
Worth reading carefully before you assume you are in or out, because the exemptions are specific rather than general.
Register as an electrician trainee ($25)
Cost: $25
If you do not yet qualify for the certification exam because you lack work experience or related instruction, you register as an electrician trainee. That is the legal way to be on the job while you build hours.
Two conditions come with it. You must be enrolled in a state-approved school, and you work only under the constant supervision of a certified electrician, who may supervise only one trainee.
Registration is $25, payable to the DIR Electrician Certification Fund. Annual renewal is free, but you have to show current proof of enrollment each time.
Note the difference from Texas or Florida: California ties your entry-level status to being in school. The schooling is not optional here.
Log 8,000 hours of the right kind of work
Time: 8,000 hours is roughly four years of full-time work
General electrician certification requires 8,000 hours of work for an electrical contractor installing, constructing or maintaining electrical systems covered by the National Electrical Code.
The hours must span two or more categories, and each category has a cap on how much it can contribute. The caps include: industrial wiring 6,000, commercial wiring 6,000, residential wiring 3,000, troubleshooting and maintenance 1,500, voice data and video installation 1,500, underground conduit installation 750, finish work and fixtures 600, fire/life safety nurse call 600, and stock room and material handling 300.
Read those caps as a career plan rather than paperwork. If you spend five years doing only residential wiring, 3,000 hours is all that will count toward your 8,000. Getting variety is not a nice-to-have in California, it is the requirement.
Pass the certification exam ($175)
Cost: $175
The application fee is $175, made up of a $100 exam fee and a $75 administration fee, and it is not refundable.
The General Electrician exam is 100 questions in 4 hours. The other certifications are shorter: Residential Electrician is 80 questions in 3 hours, and Fire/Life Safety, Voice/Data/Video and Non-residential Lighting are each 50 questions in 2 hours. You need 70% to pass any of them.
Keep it current: 3 years, 2,000 hours, 32 hours of CE
Cost: $100 renewal
Certifications expire three years from issuance. To renew you need 2,000 hours of work in the past three years, 32 hours of continuing education from approved providers, and a $100 renewal fee.
The 2,000-hour rule is the one to watch if you take time out of the trade. It is a real constraint on people who step away and intend to come back.
Later: the C-10 contractor license, if you want your own business
Certification lets you work as an electrician. Contracting for yourself in California is a separate license from a separate agency: the C-10 Electrical Contractor license from the Contractors State License Board (CSLB), which has its own experience requirement, exams and bonding.
Treat it as a second, later project rather than part of becoming an electrician. The order is: trainee, hours, certification, then C-10.
- California Secretary of State: register a businessOfficial
- California SBDC (free business advising)Official
CSLB's C-10 requirements, fees and bond amounts are not covered by the DIR pages used for this guide, and are not stated here. Get them from CSLB directly before you plan around them.
What it costs
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Electrician trainee registrationPayable to the DIR Electrician Certification Fund | $25 |
| Trainee annual renewalBut requires current proof of school enrollment | $0 |
| Certification exam application$100 exam + $75 administration, non-refundable | $175 |
| Certification renewal (every 3 years)Plus 2,000 hours worked and 32 hours of CE | $100 |
| Approved school enrollmentRequired to hold trainee status | Varies |
| Continuing education, 32 hoursEvery 3 years | Varies by provider |
| C-10 contractor license (optional, later)Separate agency, separate process | Confirm with CSLB |
Entry costs $25 plus school. The thing to plan for in California is not the fees, it is that trainee status requires enrollment and the 8,000 hours only count if they are spread across categories.
This guide is the overview. A plan is the whole thing.
Everything above is free and it is the state-level picture. An Offramp plan is built around you: your city, your budget, the licenses that apply to your specific setup, the people near you to call, and the order to do it in so nothing stalls.
Build my California plan$79 $49Common questions
Do I need to be certified to work as an electrician in California?
Yes, if you make connections of greater than 100 volt amps and work for a C-10 contractor. DIR lists exemptions including C-10 sole proprietors under their own license, C-7 and C-45 contractors, school district and plant electricians, and theatrical and motion picture technicians.
How do I start as an electrician in California with no experience?
Register as an electrician trainee for $25. You must be enrolled in a state-approved school and work under the constant supervision of a certified electrician, who may supervise only one trainee. Annual renewal is free but requires current proof of enrollment.
How many hours do I need to become a certified general electrician in California?
8,000 hours of work for an electrical contractor on systems covered by the National Electrical Code, spread across two or more categories. Each category is capped: residential wiring maxes out at 3,000 hours, commercial and industrial at 6,000 each, troubleshooting at 1,500, and so on.
How much does the California electrician exam cost?
$175 to apply, made up of a $100 exam fee and a $75 administration fee, non-refundable. The General Electrician exam is 100 questions in 4 hours and you need 70% to pass.
How often do I have to renew my California electrician certification?
Every three years. Renewal requires 2,000 hours of work in the past three years, 32 hours of continuing education from approved providers, and a $100 fee.
Is a C-10 license the same as electrician certification in California?
No. Certification from DIR lets you work as an electrician. A C-10 Electrical Contractor license from the Contractors State License Board is what lets you contract for yourself, and it is a separate agency with its own requirements, exams and bonding.
What to confirm yourself
We would rather tell you what we don’t know than make it up. These are the parts that are local, that change, or that the agency does not publish.
- CSLB's C-10 contractor requirements, fees and bond amounts are a separate agency's and are not stated here. Get them from CSLB.
- Which state-approved schools qualify for trainee enrollment changes. Confirm a school is on DIR's approved list before you pay tuition.
- The hour caps per category decide whether your experience counts. If your work is concentrated in one area, ask DIR how your hours will be credited before you reach the exam.
- Fees change. Confirm current amounts on the DIR pages the day you apply.
Sources
- California DIR: Electrician Certification FAQs · checked October 9, 2026
- California DIR: General electrician requirements · checked October 9, 2026
- California DIR: On-the-job experience categories · checked October 9, 2026
- California DIR: What is an electrician trainee? · checked October 9, 2026
- BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electricians · checked October 9, 2026
Related guides
- How to Start a Food Truck in California
- How to Start a Daycare in California
- How to Become an Electrician in Texas
Offramp is not a law firm, an accountant or a government agency, and nothing here is legal, tax or financial advice. Fees and requirements change. Confirm with the agency before you file or pay. See all guides.